The Green Lantern Corps Podcast


The coming of the Blackest Night

Posted in Uncategorized by mrread7 on December 18, 2007

With the Sinestro Corps War over. We start the year and a half journey towards “The Blackest Night”, which will the conclusion of the Green Lantern trilogy that Geoff Johns has been working on the last three years. My first thought is: “WOW!” No, really that’s my actually thoughts. You see, this isn’t coming from a guy who loves Geoff Johns writing or Ethan Van Scrier’s art work because honestly, they are top notch. You see, I’ve been a Green Lantern fan for years. I was reading the title off and on during the early 90’s and then got back into the book full time when Judd Winick took over as writer. I was always a Hal Jordan but I grew to love Kyle and when John Stewart and Guy Gardner came back into the picture, I was smiling almost every month. Since Rebirth I see myself every month picking up Green Lantern or Green Lantern Corps and being the first book I read as soon as I get to the car. No, I don’t wait to get home, I crack it open and start reading. Then when I get home I read it again and flip through the pages enjoying the art. Yes, I’m that big of a Green Lantern geek.

So, as you see I’m really looking forward to The Blackest Night, which has been talked about since Alan Moore’s story. So, what were the earliest signs of “The Blackest Night”. No, it wasn’t Moore’s story, it was seen way back in issue 6 of Green Lantern with the revamping of Black Hand at the hands of the Gremlins. Hand said himself that “death” was on the other side of the spectrum and that everything was connected to death. His new symbol is even that of the Black Lantern Corps logo, which is the symbol for death. It was through his new powers that Black Hand was able to regenerate his lost hand, which was turned to ash by Jordan possessed by Parallax when he was the Spectre. Black Hand was briefly shown during Infinite Crisis being broke out of Belle Reve by The Society. He hasn’t been seen since but now with the end of the Sinestro Corps War, we see the rise of the Black Lanterns and they are sporting Black Hand’s look. So, it’s a sure bet that Black Hand will be involved somehow, even if he is used as a trainer. We don’t know exactly how the Black Lanterns are going to come down on the universe but if it’s anything like the previews. The rings will seek out those who aren’t letting go of the earthly plane.

What’s interesting about the Blackest Night prophecy is how it’s tied in with the upcoming War of the Corps, which the Guardians of the Universe were trying not only to avoid but completely erase from the Book of Oa. Like most prophecies the more you try to avoid it, the more you play into it. That was shown with Ganthlet and Sayd creating the Blue Lantern Corps with the power of Hope. Which of course will lead to the message of peace through the Indigo Corps. Which gives another two corps colors out there along with the Green Lantern, Sinestro and Star Sapphire Corps. That is now five colors and the Red Lanterns will be showing up this summer. So, there are all six corps, with only the Orange Corps left. Who and when they will show up is unknown but it will be either in 08 or early 09. Since Orange stands for greed, the suspect list is narrow from Lex Luthor to Hector Hammond. So, any of those guys could be the founders, which will complete the seven corps and lead to the Blackest Night. I don’t know about you but all those stories have me excited, more than I have been in the last few years for Green Lantern. And I know I’m not the only one looking forward to this.

Leave a Reply

