The Green Lantern Corps Podcast


The Rise and Fall of the Comic Book collector

Posted in Rants by mrread7 on March 23, 2010

  I remember the first time I picked up a comic book. It was an issue of the Amazing Spider-man but I don’t remember the issue number. It was 1980 and I remember my mother reading the book to me. I was just in awe over the story. I was a watching of the old Spider-man TV series and Spider-man and his Amazing Friends back then. However, there was just something different about having the comic read to me. Over the next four years. I would get various comics with Spider-man, Green Lantern and even Daredevil a few times. In 1984 I had Transformers and GI Joe regularly picked up when I was shopping with my mother or grandparents.
  I never missed an issue during their long run during the 80s. Some time around 1990 I stopped reading. Comics were no longer “cool” to a lot of people. There were various cartoons and shows about various characters, which I still watched but comics were just not the thing anymore. In late 1993, I started going through depression, mostly due to high school life and very impartial social life. I even went down to almost committing suicide. I pulled myself out of it slowly but it was a long journey. One of my therapy sessions was to immerse myself in a hobby that I use to enjoy and comics were my choice. Starting back with Spider-man, Daredevil and Green Lantern, I reentered the comic book world again.
   This trend would continue the rest of the way through high school and then into college. Where I pulled my younger siblings into reading comics and started attending yearly comic book conventions. My reading had expanded to Spider-Girl, JLA, Justice Society and more. I kept things very steady and on budget for several years and even until just after college. However, around the spring of 2004 my reading waned, I dropped books and started reading only what I really enjoyed. Two years later I started working full time and I balanced my reading to include more and even had started several comic book related websites and blogs during that time. I even went on to co-found two podcasts on Green Lantern and Marvel Cosmic Titles. However, in early 2008 after suffering a major break with a girlfriend. I was forced to sell off several books on EBay and to dealers to cover massive debt she had left me. Even worse, I was not getting to far ahead on things since I was dealing with repairs and a higher cost of living. I sold over 500 books in less than 4 months.
  Things turned around for me and I met and fell in love with a woman and we married just over a year later. However, despite hard work and even cutting back more on things, balancing the budget was still proving difficult. With no other choice to settle all debts and start saving more money a month. I decided to stop buying and collecting comics in any form. Leaving me to sell off all but 2 collections and in the next few weeks to pay off as much as I can. In a way it feels a large part of my life is coming to an end but at the same time. This is the beginning of my Brightest Day. I’m starting a new beginning in my life and I have to plan more to the future now.
   Melissa and I need to get a larger more private place and we are planning on having our own family some time in the near future. These goals need to come first and not a fan boy’s enjoyment. While I will miss the blogs, reading and collecting. I know I’m doing it for the right reasons and someday when things are more balanced. I will return to the land of comic books and even video games again. And when that day comes, I will teach my children the great work of comics and leave them to experience the wonder and enjoyment.  

Leave a Reply

